Bamboo Hydroponics wins top prize in Klimathon competition

April 29, 2022 Friday

MANILA, 29 April 2022 — Two Davao City students were hailed as grand champions of the Klimathon: Our Race Towards A Net Zero Reality hackathon in its awarding ceremony held virtually on 22 April 2022, in commemoration of Earth Day.
‘Team Neutralizer’, composed of Jeremiah Malalis and Larry John Competente from the University of Mindanao (Davao City Campus), said that their innovation aims to help small-holder farmers to increase their income and production through automated bamboo vertical farming systems or hydroponics.
Their proposal, titled “Synthesis of Engineered Bamboo Nanocomposite Through Sol-Gel Technique: A Breakthrough in Automated Vertical Farming using Hydroponics in the Philippines,” bagged the Php 100,000 grand prize which can be used as seed money to further develop or implement their project.
‘Genoplas’ from Mabini Academy High School in Lipa City, Batangas placed second followed by ‘Econique’ from Ateneo de Naga University. They received Php 50,000 and Php 40,000 cash prizes, respectively. All these three winners also took home trophies.
Special citation awards for Community Participation, Gender Empowerment, and Originality were also given recognition during the virtual ceremony.
Klimathon received more than 30 entries all over the country, of which the top ten teams were selected. The teams had undergone a mentoring program led by industry experts to further enhance their project concepts.
Their final project proposals were presented to the panel of judges led by Dr. Maria Angela Zafra, member of the CCC National Panel of Technical Experts, with members Undersecretary Analiza Rebuelta-Teh from the Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR); Ms. Antoinette Taus, United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) Goodwill Ambassador and Founder of CORA Philippines; Dr. Enrico C. Paringit, Executive Director of the Department of Science and Technology - Philippine Council for Industry, Energy, and Emerging Technology Research and Development (DOST-PCIEERD); and Ms. Jasmin Estacio, Innovation Portfolio Management Head of Nestlé Philippines Inc.
The complete list of winners of Klimathon, announced by Commissioner Rachel Herrera of the Climate Change Commission (CCC) and Ms. Cristine Ponce-Garcia, AVP of Sustainability and Public Affairs of Nestlé Philippines, are as follows:
Team Neutralizer
Jeremiah Malalis and Larry John Competente
University of Mindanao
Davao City, Davao del Sur
1st runner-up:
Team Genoplas
Daphnie Yesha O. Valdez and Almira Grace C. Tenoso
Mabini Academy High School
Lipa City, Batangas
2nd runner-up:
Team Econique
Michelle De Vergara and Kristaleen Trisha Lagasca
Ateneo de Naga University
Naga City, Camarines Sur
Special Award: Community Participation:
Team Tagubtub
Jaspher Ian A. Gregorio, Nelson P. Dapal III, Princess Rau B. Cunanan
Mindanao State University High School
General Santos City, South Cotabato
Special Award: Gender Empowerment:
Daphnie Yesha O. Valdez and Almira Grace C. Tenoso
Mabini Academy High School
Lipa City, Batangas
Special Award: Originality:
Michelle De Vergara and Kristaleen Trisha Lagasca
Ateneo de Naga University
Naga City, Camarines Sur
Klimathon: Our Race Towards A Net Zero Reality, a joint project of the CCC and Nestlé Philippines, highlights the capability of young Filipino innovators to develop and showcase sustainability-focused solutions that can help address current issues and challenges relating to the climate crisis.
“For Klimathon, we are privileged to work with the youth in particular, by providing a platform for developing science-based solutions to climate change. You are the most passionate and creative of the society, and you can make a difference,” said Kais Marzouki, Chairman and CEO of Nestlé Philippines.
CCC Secretary Robert E.A. Borje expressed his gratitude to Nestlé Philippines in this endeavor to discover innovative solutions from the youth.
Further, Secretary Borje also congratulated the participants and winners of Klimathon and emphasized the critical role of the youth in the pursuit of sustainability and climate resilience.
“Let us continue to invest more in our youth, in our communities, and in our creativity and intellect as a nation towards sustainability and resiliency. This is the only way to go in order for us to secure a better future for our nation,” said Secretary Borje.
Watch the video of the Awarding Ceremony through this link: