Animation film “Our World” hailed Best Film in the first-ever Klima Film Festival Awards

December 03, 2020 Thursday

MANILA, 4 December 2020 — Animation film “Our World” bagged the first-ever Klima Film Festival’s (KFF) Best Film award and other major prizes during online ceremonies held on November 25 via Facebook Live.
“Our World” is a story of Nymfa the nymph, who is a loving and delicate creature living with her powerful elemental dragons named Ember (fire), River (water), and Skye (wind). They all live in peace and serenity, until one day, invaders from the intricate royal castle arrive and create obstacles to their harmonious living.

Aside from the grand prize, which comes with a cash prize of P50,000, the young film makers and first-time animators – Jerome Pineda, Kit Aguilar, Jackie Galario, and Dom Bitang of Aquarian Eye Media – also took home the following awards: Best Screenplay, Best Musical Scoring (triple tie), Best in Research and Content, and Most Liked Teaser.
The Festival’s 1st Runner-up, to receive a cash prize of Php 30,000, is “Verdant” directed by Mikone Joshua Calungsod of Ang Maharlika Productions, while “Resilience” directed by Lance Lascano and Kris Angel Ditan of South Frame Visuals finished as 2nd runner-up and took home Php 20,000.
After a series of deliberations conducted jointly by the Climate Change Commission and Oscar M. Lopez (OML) Center, with support from the Movie and Television Review and Classification Board led by Chairperson Rachel Arenas, only 10 made it to the finals.
The 10 films shortlisted were screened by the KFF judges composed of climate champion, Deputy Speaker Loren Legarda; climate science experts; OML Center Executive Director, Dr. Rodel D. Lasco, and CCC Commissioner Rachel Herrera.
The Philippine Commission on Women, led by Chairperson Sandra Montano, also participated in the judging process to select the film with the most gender-responsive content.
For the first time in history, the KFF was able to gather three of the country’s most respected filmmakers as part of its panel of judges – National Artist for Film and the Father of Philippine Independent Cinema, Mr. Eric de Guia, also known as “Kidlat Tahimik”; legend in slow cinema movement and director of the 485-minute narrative film, Hele sa Hiwagang Hapis, Mr. Lavrente Indico Diaz; and independent filmmaker who has won several awards including Best Director and Best Film in the Cannes, Berlin and Venice International Film Festivals, Mr. Brillante Mendoza.
Here is the complete list of winners for the first-ever Klima Film Festival:
Grand Winners:
·Best Film - Our World
·1st Runner-Up – Verdant
·2nd Runner-Up - Resilience
Major Awards:
·Best Musical Scoring - Jeremiah at ang Bayan ng Gomorrah (Vision in Perspective Productions), Our World, and Verdant
·Best Production Design - Jeremiah at ang Bayan ng Gomorrah and Verdant
·Best Cinematography – Verdant
·Best Screenplay - Our World
·Best Performance - Jan Arthur Miro Embog from Jeremiah at ang Bayan ng Gomorrah
·Best Director - Mikone Joshua Calungsod of Verdant
Special Awards:
·Most Liked Poster - Manalas (Saligahan Productions)
·Most Liked Teaser - Our World
·Audience Choice Award - Jeremiah at and Bayan ng Gomorrah
·Gender-Responsive Award - Drawings
·Best in Research and Content Award - Our World
Seven Finalists:
·Grow My Mind
·Jeremiah at ang Bayan ng Gomorrah
·Si Hiraya at ang Diwa
Winners of major and special awards will receive Php 3,000 each, and the seven finalists will receive Php 5,000 each. Winners will also receive trophies sponsored by the Support CCC II Project implemented jointly by the CCC and the GIZ on behalf of the German Federal Government.
The top 10 entries can also be accessed all day and all night for free through iWant TFC, the Official Media Partner for the KFF, starting November 26, 2020. Access the films through this link:
The Klima Film Festival, which ran for five months, is a project of the Climate Change Commission in partnership with the Oscar M. Lopez Center aims to mainstream the effects of climate change through the use of short films written and produced by young Filipino filmmakers across the country.
See the latest updates from the Climate Change Commission and the Oscar M. Lopez Center through their website at and