Sci-fi film “Viridescent” won Best Film in second edition of Klima Film Festival

March 17, 2022 Thursday

MANILA, 17 March 2022 — Science fiction film “Viridescent” bagged the Best Film award and three other major awards in the Klima Film Festival 2021 Awarding Ceremony held on March 11 via Facebook Live.
“Viridescent” is a story of a visionary woman and a defeatist man who must work together to retrieve crucial biological data that has been lost. With a breakdown in communication between the two, a one-man mission arose— the one-man mission of a woman, to fulfill their dream of securing planet Earth for humankind again. Its prequel, “Verdant” won as 1st runner-up in the first-ever KFF in 2020.
Aside from the grand prize, which comes with a cash prize of P70,000, the KFF returnee-participant – Mikone Joshua Calungsod of MCDP Films, formerly Ang Maharlika Productions – also took home the following awards: Best in Climate Advocacy, Best Production Design, and Best Cinematography.
The Festival’s 1st Runner-up, who will receive a cash prize of Php 50,000, is “Sigalot sa Pagitan ng Tao at Kalikasan” directed by Erwin Adupe of ENCA Film Production, while “Tanaw” directed by Kaila Ysavl Bergonio of Playback Multimedia won as 2nd runner-up and took home Php 30,000.
After series of deliberations, only four (4) films made it to the finals. These four films were then submitted to the Movies and Television Review and Classification Board to secure a permit to exhibit.
Moreover, these films were screened by six (6) esteemed KFF judges composed of science and film experts. They are as follows: Dr. Doracie Zoleta-Nantes, Chairperson of the National Panel of Technical Experts; Dr. Rodel D. Lasco, Executive Director of the Oscar M. Lopez Center; Ms. Mary Liza B. Diño, Chairperson of the Film Development Council of the Philippines; Ms. Honey M. Castro, Chief of Corporate Affairs and Information Resource Management Division of the Philippine Commission on Women (PCW); Dr. Rolando B. Tolentino, Professor at the University of the Philippines Film Institute and member of the Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino; and Ms. Sari Raissa LL. Dalena, Professor at the University of the Philippines Film Institute and an independent filmmaker
The PCW also assisted in identifying the film with the most gender-responsive content.
Below is the complete list of winners of the Klima Film Festival 2021:
Grand Winners:
·Best Film – Viridescent
·1st Runner-Up – Sigalot sa Pagitan ng Tao at Kalikasan
·2nd Runner-Up – Tanaw
Major Awards:
·Best in Climate Advocacy – Viridescent
·Best Screenplay – Tanaw
·Best Musical Scoring – Sigalot sa Pagitan ng Tao at Kalikasan
·Best Production Design – Viridescent
·Best Cinematography – Viridescent
·Best Performance – Andrea Marie Bool for her role as “Aira Mendoza” in Tanaw
·Best Director – Erwin Adupe for Sigalot sa Pagitan ng Tao at Kalikasan
Special Awards:
·Audience Choice Award – Modern Stray (Trianggulo Productions)
·Gender-Responsive Award – Tanaw
·Modern Stray
Major award winners will receive trophies and Php 15, 000 each, while the remaining finalist will also bring home Php 15,000. Special award winners will also receive a trophy and a cash prize of Php 5,000 each. The trophies for the KFF are made from recycled materials.
Starting this month until March 2023, enjoy a free unlimited access to the top 4 entries, along with the 10 finalists of the KFF 2020, through the iWant TFC, the Official Media Partner for the KFF.
The conduct of the Klima Film Festival Awarding Ceremony is supported by the GIZ Philippines through the Support CCC II Project jointly implemented by the CCC and GIZ Philippines.
The Klima Film Festival is a project of the Climate Change Commission in partnership with the Oscar M. Lopez Center to mainstream the effects of climate change through the use of short films written and produced by young Filipino filmmakers across the country.
See the latest updates from the Climate Change Commission and the Oscar M. Lopez Center through their website at and